Chinese Chicken Fingers

When I was growing up, we’d always have Chinese food with my grandparents. We’d order several meals and everyone would dig in. Since going gluten-free those days are now (somewhat) over.

Though we’ve found some incredible Chinese restaurants and I’ve made my own versions of several dishes, chicken fingers just seemed like such an impossible and daunting task. How could you get that perfect breading at home? And gluten-free? Forget it.

Until now.

This past week we found some duck sauce in the supermarket. It inspired me.

I decided to be brave and go out on a limb, and boy am I glad I did! This comes so close to the Chinese chicken fingers I used to eat as a child and to think of how easy it is! If only I had known sooner I could have been enjoying these for a long time. But I have them now, and that’s better than before.πŸ™‚ Now you too can enjoy these perfectly crispy chicken tenders at home. No more Chinese food nights passing the fluffy breaded chicken fingers, now I can enjoy them just like everyone else, and you can too! Even if you’re not gluten-free, I’m sure this would work just as well with regular flour.

It also pairs perfectly with fried rice.

Chinese-Chicken-Fingers-with-duck-sauce

Chinese Chicken Fingers

  • About 8 chicken tenders cut in quarters (half each direction)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/4 cup all purpose gluten free flour
  • 1/4 cup corn starch
  • 1/4 cup water (give or take a little depending on batter)
  • 1/2-1 teaspoon gluten-free baking powder (I used half, but my ap flour had some in already)
  • Sprinkle salt and pepper
  • Oil for frying
  1. Preheat oil in deep fryer or cast iron skillet.
  2. Combine flour, corn starch, baking powder, salt, and pepper in a gallon sized bag.
  3. Add in the beaten egg. Mix my scrunching the bag.
  4. Add the water a little at a time, mixing it in, until the batter is pasty.
  5. Drop the chicken into the bag and slosh around until coated.
  6. Fry tenders in 1-2 inches of heated oil* in a cast iron pan, giving them enough room to not touch each other. Flip when underside is golden.
  7. Cook until golden on all sides and chicken is cooked through (165 degrees F).
  8. Serve with duck sauce and fried rice and enjoy!

*Be careful! With even just a few splatters that oil can BURN!


If you like this recipe, follow along on Facebook.πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Chinese Chicken Fingers”

Leave a Reply

