Gluten-Free Oreo Cake

Happy Friday, Friends!

Today I’m sharing one of our favorites: gluten-free Oreo* cake. It has a perfect blend of chocolate and cream, with that special Oreo cream filling to tie it all together. It’s rich and sweet, though not overpowering.

*Note: Oreos are not gluten-free, but gluten-free substitutes are easy to find and can taste just about the same depending on the brand.

Oreo_cake1

With desserts like this, who wouldn’t enjoy eating gluten free?

I made this chocolate quinoa cake. I suppose any chocolate cake would work, though I like the balance between the frosting and the denser quinoa cake. I also make sure to chill it in the fridge before frosting. Once it’s cooled, then the fun begins!

Oreo_Frosting

With the first layer of cake on a plate or other platter, spread the Oreo cream frosting. (Frosting recipe below.)

Cake_Top_Frosting

Place the second layer of cake over the Oreo frosting and add a big dollop of frosting on top. Reserve some frosting if you plan on using it to decorate the top, otherwise use the rest to frost the cake.

Oreo_Crumbles

Use a clean hand to put crushed gluten-free Oreos along the sides. I placed a paper towel under the edge of my plate to catch all the excess and reuse it. If I’m feeling lazy I’ll cover the whole thing in crushed Oreo, if not, I’ll go from this step and decorate it another way.

Cover and store the cake in the refrigerator.

Oreo_cake2

Then it’s time to slice and enjoy!

Oreo Cream Cheese Frosting

I’m sharing this with my friends at Fiesta Friday. Have a great weekend, everyone!

I’d love to see how you decorate it! If you’d like, share photos of your Oreo cake in the comments or on Facebook.πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Oreo Cake”

Leave a Reply

