Monday (Part Two) Gluten-Free Yellow Quinoa Cake

Happy Monday everyone! (And happy Monday, again to those who were reading earlier!)

Today I decided that I wouldn’t overwhelm you with an excruciatingly long post, so I made two instead. You can read the first one here.

This one is all about the cake! (’bout that cake, ’bout that cake, no trouble…. Man I hate that song!)

So… Cake! While we were shopping, I found some cake decorating tips that actually weren’t too badly priced. (I’m always up for a deal.) I’ve wanted to try cake decorating for awhile now, but I’ve never had the tips of anything to try it with.

I was so anxious and excited to try that I almost started baking after midnight on Thursday. Early Friday morning? However you want to look at it, it was late, and I needed sleep.

I’ve been trying to find a recipe for a quinoa based vanilla or yellow cake for a very long time now, but the only recipes I can seem to find contain exorbitant amounts of chocolate. I’m not a big chocolate person, so I’ve been wanting something a little less… chocolate.

I decided that I’d just have to make my own! I looked at two recipes that you can find here and here, and just kind of did my own thing from there. I haven’t tried the first recipe, but the second one is absolutely amazing if you’re looking for a good gluten-free chocolate cake that you can easily make at home.

I used finely shredded zucchini in this recipe because my mom had given me one awhile ago that I needed to use. But I’m very much looking forward to trying it with other things as well. I’m thinking carrot cake, and pumpkin spice cake.

(Random fact about me, carrot cake was my favorite kind as a kid, until I got a little older and decided on cheesecake for the winner. Ooo… Carrot cake cheesecake, now I’m going to need to try this one.)

This cake sliced so absolutely perfectly! I was so shocked and amazed by it! Flavor-wise, even my picky husband liked it! Though he did say the frosting was amazing…

Speaking of which, I also made some cream cheese frosting to decorate it with! I was so excited to try out my new decorating tips! I actually played with the frosting before I even made the cake.

Quick tip: I really wanted to try making roses, but I didn’t have a rose nail. If you find yourself in the same situation, don’t be discouraged! It occurred to me as I was drinking kefir in a wine glass that if I flipped it over, the base of the glass would work perfectly in the nail’s place! I tried it and I’m so glad I did! My roses are still kind of a mess, but hey, at least I tried. I think it’s something that will get better with practice anyway.

Here’s a picture of my first try.

First Rose

And some other random… thing. I’m going to go with pinecone. It kind of looks like a pinecone, doesn’t it? Eh, I’m going with it! It’s a pinecone!😀

Frosting Pine Cone

The frosting itself, of course, always knew that it was destined for something greater, hence this.

Frosting Falcon
Frosting Falcon

That little wisp looks like a falcon, right? Okay, maybe not. Maybe I’m crazy, but hey, people will do some crazy things for their sweets!

And now some of the actual cake.

My first few roses.
My first few roses.
What they looked like surrounded by all that swirly glory.
What they looked like surrounded by all that swirly glory.
The messy sides of the cake.
The messy sides of the cake.
From the top.
From the top.
Sliced Cake
And now the moment we’ve been waiting for, the sliced cake finally served up on a plate.

Another quick tip: If you don’t have a cake box, you can stick marshmallows (or gummy bears, something of the sort) on the ends of toothpicks to keep plastic wrap from touching your cake and ruining all of your efforts. It looks like some sort of martian cake, but hey, it works!

Ta-da!
Ta-da!

Enjoy! Feel free to like my Facebook page for more frequent updates and community. I’d love to see you there! Have a wonderful day!

Quinoa-Cake

Cream-Cheese-Frosting

One thought on “Monday (Part Two) Gluten-Free Yellow Quinoa Cake”

Leave a Reply

