Of Sinks And Change And Thoughts

Happy Monday, everyone! I hope you’ve had a wonderful weekend!

This Monday was a very busy one for me, it was spent mostly running errands. But that’s quite alright, I got to spend some much-needed time with my husband. And we finally switched our driver’s licenses over! Wahoo!

In other exciting news, I finally have a kitchen sink! Well… Faucet. It was supposed to be replaced with the dishwasher last week, but something was wrong with it, so it was postponed until this morning. It is so nice to have running water in the kitchen again!

Upon having a new dishwasher installed last week I realized something about myself that I was rather surprised about — I actually enjoy washing dishes by hand. An incredibly confusing fact, since I’ve always been the sort of person to despise washing dishes. Not just dislike, not even hate — despise.

I think it’s that I like having the time where I’m forced to calm down and let my mind rest. I like that. And looking out onto the neighbor’s lawn (I’m really not a creeper), confetti-ed with autumn leaves… Oh, it’s beautiful! And all the little birds and squirrels. It just makes me feel so calm and relaxed and happy to be alive.

I’ll probably continue to wash dishes by hand, except for those times where there are just too many of them or too many other things to do. It’s nice to have something that needs to be done that forces you to take a step back and just breathe. So it is a thing that ought to happen more.

Little things in life. So simple, yet so meaningful.

It’s funny how irritable some people can be. I think that’s the reason why… They don’t take enough time to stop and enjoy the little things. When we were at the DMV, there were people there, but it wasn’t nearly as crowded as it could have been, or as it has been in my previous experiences with them.

There was this one guy who made a big deal over having to wait an hour. We arrived shortly after he did, and our number card said our wait time was two hours. So I’m guessing his wasn’t much different. Only one hour in, and he was complaining!

Here I was thinking we were doing pretty good. I obviously wasn’t the only one who thought so. The woman sitting in front of me turned back to me and we shared a smirk at the man’s impatience.

It’s amazing how one look can make you feel a connection with someone and have and interest in their life. After that I sat there wondering, “What’s her story?” I wondered that about a few other people today too. There are so many people in the world, and each one has a different story to share. It’s really interesting!

I didn’t get a chance to talk to any of them, but I did wonder. And I suppose that’s where good stories come into play.

Then, to top the day off, I came home to a lovely email from a very dear friend. The evening was then spent editing and writing.

For dinner I wanted something quick and simple, so I made the rice and beans from my margarita chicken.

So… My plan for Monday’s dinner has now become the plan for Tuesday’s. I wanted something to ring in the new season.  Cinnamon apple pork chops, orange autumn rice, brown sugar acorn squash, and apple crisp for dessert. Yum! I’ll share those with you sometime next week. This one’s a busy one for me!

Do you have any favorite autumn-y foods? I’d love to hear about them in the comments!

Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

