Margarita Chicken

Happy Tuesday Everyone!

This Tuesday I made a copycat of Chili’s Margarita Grilled Chicken. It turned out great! There are a few tweaks I’d make next time, primarily the addition of more margarita mix. (All my recipes are gluten-free, by the way.)

I also made pico de gallo to top it all off. I started in the morning, so I had all day to look forward to it.

The scorching onion of tears.
The scorching onion of tears.

It was quite the experience! First of all, the red onion I used was really strong! There’s nothing like crying in the kitchen alone, knife in hand, unable to see what you’re doing.

Then, when juicing the lime, some of the juice squirted directly into my eye. I take back what I said earlier… There’s nothing like the sting of citrus in cried-out eyes. Well worth it though!

My Tuesday proceeded to be highly productive, which is good because it means I actually can buckle down and focus when I put my mind to it.

Have a lovely day!

 

Pico De Gallopico de gallo

1/2 red onion

3 large, firm tomatoes

1/2 bunch cilantro

1 jalapeno

Juice from 1 lime

Salt to taste

Chop. Mix. Enjoy.

 

Margarita Chicken

2 chicken breasts

1/2 cup liquid margarita mix

Black pepper, salt, garlic powder, onion powder

Marinate chicken in margarita mix overnight. Fry chicken in pan covered about halfway in margarita mix (or grill instead). Season each side with pepper, garlic and onion powder.

 

Margarita Rice And Black Beans

2 cups cooked rice

1 can black beans (drained)

1/2ish cups margarita mix

Black pepper, salt, garlic powder, onion powder, coriander, cumin.

Mix everything in a large skillet. Heat until warm.

 

The dinner that made it all worth it.
The dinner that made it all worth it.

3 thoughts on “Margarita Chicken”

Leave a Reply

